When I Rise

“Let me hear in the morning of Your steadfast love, for in You I trust. Make me know the way I should go, for to You I lift up my soul!” Psalm 143:8

I am not a morning person. In fact, I am more of a night owl than an early bird. Who cares if the early bird gets the worm? I would much rather stay in my warm bed as long as possible, and then have coffee. 😉

Nevertheless, I have found something that helps me to get up more promptly, and that is my daily Bible study. I have found that the morning time is my favorite time to do my studying of God’s Word. Having something to look forward to when I wake up gives me more motivation to tumble out of bed earlier than I normally would. I have also found that not only am I more productive when I get started earlier in the day, but that my day goes a whole lot better when I start it with Jesus.

We are taught by God that we are to have a desire to learn His Word. Job said, “I have treasured the words of His mouth more than my necessary food.” (23:12) Though there are many passages in Scripture that encourage us to be continually in the Word (Psalm 1:2; 119:97), there are also several that emphasize the joy of having time with God in the morning hours.

Psalm 5:3 ~ “My voice You shall hear in the morning, O Lord; in the morning I will direct it to You, and I will look up.”

Psalm 59:16 ~ “But I will sing of Your strength, I will sing aloud of Your steadfast love in the morning. For You have been to me a fortress and a refuge in the day of my distress.”

Psalm 90:14 ~ “Satisfy us in the morning with Your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days!”

Mark 1:35 ~ “And rising very early in the morning, while it was still dark, He [Jesus] departed and went out to a desolate place, and there He prayed.”

These scriptures (and many more) can serve as an example and an encouragement to us in starting our day with God, whether it be just a few minutes in prayer and reading His Word, or setting apart a block of time in which to dig deeper into the Scripture before you conquer the day.
If you’re having trouble finding motivation to get started in the mornings, or if you just need to find a good time for your Bible study, try it out one morning. Start small, and maybe even set yourself out a schedule. Even if you highly dislike getting up with the birds, perhaps it will be worth it when you look out the window and see the beautiful sunrise. But more importantly, you would have begun your day spending time with your Savior. And who knows, maybe you’ll become a morning person after all.

Leave a Reply

