Be Still My Soul

“Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!” ~Psalm 46:10

The necklace you see in the picture is one that I received for Christmas this past year from my parents. I had my eye on it for some time, not just because it is pretty and I like necklaces, but because of the message it bears. Be still my soul. I am working to more deliberately trust God’s timing in my life, and not to worry about whether or not things will go the way I think they should go. It is not always easy to let go of the reigns and hand over control. Thus, I loved the idea of having that reminder close, admonishing me to trust Him continually.

So here we are, right smack in the middle of January 2016. We have begun a new year, complete with the onset of life’s craziness again after the nice break of the holiday season. School, work, sports, and church events all compete to have the #1 spot on our to-do lists. All the things we are involved in are good things. Yet at the end of the day, can we be still?

” B e i n g  s t i l l  means having God as the constant center of your life even when the world is spinning around you. It means fixing your focus on the Savior instead of the stress.”

Many times in the midst of the busyness, we get stressed. And when we get stressed, we can lose sight of what is most important. When things get overwhelming, we may try to find repose in worldly things: books, TV shows, social media, or even friends. Though these things may help distract our whirling thoughts for a time, we could be missing out on the real contentment that can only come from God.

“Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for Him; fret not yourself over the one who prospers in his way, over the man who carries out evil devices!” (Psalm 37:7) The phrase “be still” literally means “to rest”. (see also Isaiah 30:15) Our God delights in giving us rest.  He tells us that if we wait upon Him, He will give us renewed strength like an eagle, that we will run and not grow weary, and that we will walk and not faint (Isaiah 40:31). Jesus came so that we could have abundant life in Him (John 10:10), but since He Himself was human, He knows how wearisome life can get sometimes. That’s why He tells us, “Come to Me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you, and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy, and My burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30)

If you can see it in the picture, the necklace is also shaped like an anchor. As Christians, we have something incredible, something even our human minds cannot fully comprehend, to look forward to one day: Heaven. Scripture defines this as our hope — and it is not merely something we look forward to. It is something we know that we will inherit, which influences how we live our life on earth. Hebrews 6:9-20 describes our hope as “a sure and steadfast anchor of the soul”. We sometimes sing the hymn that goes, “We have an anchor that keeps the soul; steadfast and sure while the billows roll; fastened to the Rock which cannot move, grounded firm and deep in the Savior’s love.” It is only when we grasp onto the anchor of our hope that we can know the true meaning of being still, even in the storms of life.

So even in the midst of whatever stress, trial, or tribulation you are in, God promises to give you rest. Whatever cares are weighing you down, give them to the Lord! 1 Peter 5:7 says to “cast all your cares upon Him, for He cares for you.” Jesus Himself is our peace (Ephesians 2:14), and it is only through that peace that our soul can find the stillness that we desire.

I will leave you with a passage that has helped set my heart at rest whenever I am worried or upset. It helps me to remember that the One who holds me in His hand is the One who rules the world. As this is probably a familiar verse to you, I encourage you to not skim over it, but rather read it slowly. Let God’s word strengthen your heart to rely more fully on Him in the year ahead.

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:6-7)

{ To learn more about where I ordered my necklace and see more jewelry with inspiring quotes and verses, visit the Plunder© website here. }


Leave a Reply

