Lord, It Belongs Not To My Care

Just this past week, our church family lost a dear brother in Christ. He was an elderly man, full of years serving the Lord. It would be difficult to find a more loving or faithful husband, father, and minister. Though we no longer have his life here with us, his godly example lives on after him. As we celebrated his life here on earth, we were reminded that though this sweet man had his share of trials and temptation, his life is one that we can learn from — his evangelistic spirit, his passion for the Lord, his love for his family, and so much more.

So while I miss him being with us, I am comforted by the fact that he is now with his Lord, and with his dear wife who had gone on before him. I am also reminded of this poem by Richard Baxter, written in 1681. Though this poem reminds me of our brother’s life, I hope that I myself can, with total honesty in my relationship with Christ, repeat these words and grow in my faith, ever longing with a greater desire to be in heaven with my Lord.

Lord, it belongs not to my care,
Whether I die or live;
To love and serve Thee is my share,
And this Thy grace must give.

If death shall braize this springing seed,
Before it come to fruit;
The will with Thee goes for the deed,
Thy life was in the root.

Thou lead’st me through no darker rooms
Than Christ went through before;
He that into Thy kingdom comes,
Must enter by this Door.

Come, Lord, when grace hath made me meet
Thy blessed face to see;
For if thy work on earth be sweet,
What will thy glory be?

Thy knowledge of that life is small;
The eye of faith is dim;
But, it’s enough my God knows all,
And I shall be with Him.

~Richard Baxter
“And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, ‘Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be His people, and God Himself will be with them as their God. He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.'”
(Revelation 21:3-4)
Leave a Reply

