In My Twentieth Year

As my 20th birthday came and went this past Thursday, I found myself setting some spiritual goals — things that I want to be better at in the coming year, and ways that I can be stronger in the Lord. It is my prayer that I mature in Him during this next year, for everyone, no matter their age, always has room to grow in Christ (Colossians 1:10). I’d like to share these goals, and I hope that they might encourage you to strengthen your faith in the Lord, as well. No matter what aspirations you have, always remember to cover them in prayer so that you have the Lord always before you!

  • May I look to Him for wisdom, guidance and strength in my decisions.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will direct your paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6

  • May I worship Him from a pure and contrite heart.

“The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit, a broken and contrite heart — these, O God, You will not despise.” Psalm 51:17

“Do all things without grumbling or disputing, that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world.” Philippians 2:14-15

  • May I put Him in the center of my life.

“If then you were raised with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ is, sitting at the right hand of God. Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth. For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ who is our life appears, then you also will appear with Him in glory.” Colossians 3:1-4

  • May I keep my eyes on heaven and my mind set in eternity.

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also He has put eternity in their hearts, except that no one can find out the work that God does from beginning to end.” Ecclesiastes 3:11

“While we do not look at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen. For the things which are seen are temporary, but the things which are not seen are eternal. For we know that if our earthly home, this tent, is destroyed, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens.” 2 Corinthians 4:18-5:1

  • May I obtain and sustain His joy.

“For the joy of the Lord is your strength.” Nehemiah 8:10

“These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be full.” John 15:11

  • May I live to shine His light and bring others to Him.

“Let your light so shine before men that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:16

“What then? Only that in every way, whether in pretense or in truth, Christ is preached; and in this I rejoice, yes, and will rejoice. .. According to my earnest expectation and hope that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but with all boldness, as always, so now also Christ will be magnified in my body, whether by life or by death.” Philippians 1:18, 20

  • May I never compare myself to others and find my identity in Christ.

“I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.” Galatians 2:20

“Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For His sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in Him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith—that I may know Him and the power of His resurrection, and may share His sufferings, becoming like Him in His death, that by any means possible I may attain the resurrection from the dead.” Philippians 3:8-11

 

 

5 thoughts on “In My Twentieth Year

  1. These are such good goals to set, and I think I want to copy a few of them starting today. I especially need to focus on identity and approval; thanks for the reminder.

    Also, happy birthday! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aww, I am so glad that this was beneficial to you! I’m always having to remind myself of these things as well, and writing them out just helps to establish them in my mind. 🙂 And thank you!!

      Like

  2. Awesome post!

    I think even those of us in our 30s should be setting these goals anew each year. I am overjoyed to read that you are working to secure your heart in your youth. Seek first the kingdom of God and all the worries and cares of life will melt away like hot butter. Keep on keepin’ on!

    I’d like to add that it is often recommended to add a plan of sorts into your goals by which you can gauge your progress. For instance, when you say, “May I look to Him for wisdom, guidance and strength in my decisions,” make a time to pray each day with your undetermined decisions written out and prayed over. As these decisions are made clear, write down the outcome and give thanks for the direction. May you be blessed in your 20th year and may the Lord guard your heart from the tempter.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the encouragement! You are very right in saying that these are goals to be sought after our whole lives, not only in our younger days.
      I like your idea, as well! That is a great way to see how God has guided you, and to make sure you are staying on the right track with your goals. Thank you for your feedback and advice! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

