Overflowing With Thankfulness

I am forever grateful

I am forever blessed

I am forever searching for words

To tell of my thankfulness

//

‘Cause You’re my light

You’re my strength

You’re my hope for all good things

You’re my life

My very breath

I’m overflowing with thankfulness

Overflowing with thankfulness!

//

I am forever praying

You are forever there

I am forever calling to You

In need of Your endless care

//

I will forever praise you

I will forever sing

I will forever lift up Your name

For You are my everything!

These are the words to one of my favorite devotional songs called “Overflowing With Thankfulness”. (You can find a beautiful a cappella version here.) What I love about this song is that it emphasizes our spiritual blessings associated with our relationship with the Lord. Our physical blessings are important as well – we have been richly blessed in our homes, families, friends, clothes, transportation, jobs, and many other comforts that we often, yet sadly, take for granted. But I think we can often get distracted with thinking more about our physical blessings, especially this time of year, rather than our spiritual blessings. As Christians, everything Christ gives us is and should be of far greater value than any earthly possession we may own. Ephesians 1:3 says, “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in Christ with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places.”  The chorus of this song is a good summary of the spiritual blessings that we have in Jesus. Let’s look at it closer:

You’re my light. Jesus Himself is the Light of the world (John 8:12), for in God is light and no darkness at all (1 John 1:5). But there is a big difference in Jesus being light and Him being my light. When Christ is my light, I can see to avoid Satan’s traps. When Christ is my light, I can see His will more clearly. When Christ is my light, I will be able to see the way to heaven. When the Lord lights my life, I will be a better light to the rest of the world (Matthew 5:16). This Light gives us everything we need to be content and satisfied in Him – plus joy in trials, trust in fear, and wisdom in uncertainty. Don’t you want to live in the Light?

“For it is You who light my lamp; the Lord my God lightens my darkness.” {Psalm 18:28}

“Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.” {Psalm 119:105}

“But if we walk in the light, as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus His Son cleanses us from all sin.” {1 John 1:7}

 

You’re my strength. Oh, how feeble our own strength can be. Just when we think we have it all handled, we crash and fall (1 Corinthians 10:12). When we think we just can’t stand on our own two feet any longer, that’s when we must fall to our knees. As Christians, we don’t rely on our own power any longer; we are nothing on our own. God can convert our strength to His strength as we become more and more dependent upon Him. You see, God doesn’t want us to run to Him only when we’re out of choices and energy – He must be our Strength every day of our life. What a freeing thought!

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.” {Proverbs 3:5-6}

“My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.” {Psalm 121:2}

“Lift up your eyes on high, and see who has created these things, who brings out their host by number; He calls them all by name, by the greatness of His might and the strength of His power; Not one is missing. Why do you say, O Jacob, and speak, O Israel, ‘My way is hidden from the Lord, and my right is disregarded by my God’? Have you not known? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; His understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might He increases strength. Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.” {Isaiah 40:26-31}

“My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” {Psalm 73:26}

You’re my hope for all good things. Here we have a “2-for-1” blessing: hope + good things. Only Jesus provides true, lasting hope. When everything in our view seems hopeless, He reminds us, “Just look up”. A Christian’s hope is a combination of expectation and anticipation. No matter what happens to us here on earth, we have something exceedingly better waiting for us in heaven! In this hope we trust Him to provide us with all the good things that we need, and even don’t deserve. Wouldn’t you agree that no matter what material blessings we may possess, a Christian’s life is still the most joyful? That is because we can seize that which is intangible, that which can never be taken away from us.

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to His great mercy, He has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you.” {1 Peter 1:3-4}

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.” {James 1:17}

“For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, is working for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory, while we do not look at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen. For the things which are seen are temporary, but the things which are not seen are eternal.” {2 Corinthians 4:17-18}

You’re my life, my very breath. God is the originator of life – He created us from the beginning, breathing into Adam’s nostrils the breath of life (Genesis 2:7). But this “breath of life” speaks to something that lasts much longer than our life on earth: the soul. Our souls are what is made after the image of God, He gave this soul the capacity to live eternally in heaven if we are faithful to Him, and that is what is such a great blessing! Our sin should have condemned us to eternal death, but Jesus’ sacrifice instead gave us the opportunity for eternal life in Him. This in itself is something to be grateful for, because it means the difference between a mediocre life and an ABUNDANT life!

“I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.” {John 10:10}

“We were buried therefore with Him by baptism into death, in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might walk in newness of life.” {Romans 6:4}

“Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth. For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ who is your life appears, then you also will appear with Him in glory.” {Colossians 3:2-4}

I’m overflowing with thankfulness! Our cups cannot help but overflow with all of the spiritual blessings God pours out on us each day. He truly bestows grace upon grace upon grace (John 1:16). I encourage you in your own personal study to take a closer look at all of the spiritual blessings that come with being “in Christ” (e.g. Galatians 3:26-27; Ephesians 1:3-14). For indeed, in Christ is “hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge” (Colossians 2:2-3). So as we give thanks this season for our families, friends, and the many other blessings we have on earth, let us also consider how much greater are our riches in the Kingdom!

“They are abundantly satisfied with the fullness of Your house, and You give them drink from the river of Your pleasures.” {Psalm 36:8}

Happy Thanksgiving!

2 thoughts on “Overflowing With Thankfulness

Leave a Reply

