Midsummer Reflections: Serving With Others

One of my favorite events of the year is Vacation Bible School–the two weeks of preparation preceding it, and of course the 4 nights of crazy/chaotic/Bible-packed fun with the kids. During this hectic, yet delightful few weeks, I am always reminded of the beauty of the church’s unity. David aptly wrote, “Behold, how good and pleasant it is when brothers dwell in unity!” (Psalm 133:1) Members of God’s family come together to work toward a common goal, but it is more than that–they work alongside one another for a shared purpose of Kingdom growth and Seed planting (1 Corinthians 3:6; 12:12).

I had ample opportunity this summer to experience this fellowship firsthand. My sister and I spent about four afternoons and one long day helping two talented and sweet Christian ladies paint Styrofoam fences, sheep, and other props for decoration. Our congregation loves to make VBS and the Bible stories we present come alive for the children each year and so many members take it upon themselves to literally make the Biblical accounts jump off the page and into the hallways and classrooms! My sister and I also assisted our mom in assembling Bible class take-home notebooks for the kids.

imag0009.jpg

imag0020.jpg

IMAG0022

IMAG0027

IMAG0033

During this intense week of VBS prep, I certainly learned several valuable lessons, including the value of hard work and interpersonal collaboration. Most of all, I was reminded of the importance of serving with others. It’s one thing to go out and serve someone; it’s another to serve someone alongside someone else. There are so many blessings associated with serving among others: getting to know brothers/sisters in Christ better, learning how to work as a team, learning certain values or skills (such as compromise, critical thinking, and problem-solving), being more productive, and fellowshipping with other Christians.

I am reminded of how often the Bible speaks of this harmony:

  • “For we are God’s fellow workers. You are God’s field, God’s building.” (1 Corinthians 3:9)
  • Working together with Him, then, we appeal to you not to receive the grace of God in vain.” (2 Corinthians 6:1)
  • “As for Titus, he is my partner and fellow worker for your benefit. And as for our brothers, they are messengers of the churches, the glory of Christ.” (2 Corinthians 8:23)
  • “I thank my God in all my remembrance of you, always in every prayer of mine for you all making my prayer with joy, because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now.” (Philippians 1:3-5)
  • “But you know Timothy’s proven worth, how as a son with a father he has served with me in the gospel.” (Philippians 2:22)
  • “I have thought it necessary to send to you Epaphroditus my brother and fellow worker and fellow soldier, and your messenger and minister to my need…” (Philippians 2:25)
  • “Yes, I ask you also, true companion, help these women, who have labored side by side with me in the gospel together with Clement and the rest of my fellow workers, whose names are in the book of life.” (Philippians 4:3)
  • “…just as you learned it from Epaphras our beloved fellow servant. He is a faithful minister of Christ on your behalf and has made known to us your love in the Spirit.” (Colossians 1:7-8)
  • “…and we sent Timothy, our brother and God’s coworker in the gospel of Christ, to establish and exhort you in your faith…” (1 Thessalonians 3:2)
  • “Epaphras, my fellow prisoner in Christ Jesus, sends greetings to you, and so do Mark, Aristarchus, Demas, and Luke, my fellow workers.” (Philemon 23-24)
  • “Therefore we ought to support people like these, that we may be fellow workers for the truth.” (3 John 8)

Notice how Paul points out God’s involvement in our interactions with others. First and foremost, we serve for and with Him. Just like the Christians mentioned in the epistles, we are God’s “fellow workers,” “God’s co-workers,” and we are “working together with Him.” Then, we serve God with others. Just as we are brothers and sisters in Christ, we are also “partners,” “companions,” “fellow workers,” “fellow servants,” “fellow prisoners,” and “fellow soldiers.” Whether we are preparing for Vacation Bible School, helping to teach a Bible class, or serving on a mission campaign, we can serve with each other.

God’s work was meant to be done together. While there are times when one-on-one service is more helpful and we can learn much and be blessed by this, serving alongside fellow Christians can produce even further opportunities for spiritual learning and growth.

Leave a comment