Freely Give

This past July, I embarked on my first ever overseas mission trip–to Arad, Romania. Thanks to a wonderful missionary couple from our home congregation (who also happens to be among our family’s “adopted grandparents”), I was able to travel with them to volunteer as a teacher for the World English Institute (WEI) campaign, which was held by the church there. Using the WEI material, I was able to study English and Bible lessons individually with five lovely young women, who were altogether gracious, kind, and eager to learn.

During the campaign and in the months following, one of Christ’s commands to His apostles kept coming to mind: “Freely you have received, freely give.” (Matthew 10:8, NKJV) In context, Jesus is sending out His apostles “to the lost sheep of Israel” (vs. 6) and instructing them in how to extend His message and miracles. Matthew Henry comments on this passage, “Their power to heal the sick cost them nothing, and, therefore, they must not make any secular advantage to themselves of it.” However, this passage can also have a spiritual application for us as Christians today. Henry again notes, “The consideration of Christ’s freeness in doing good to us, should make us free in doing good to others.” The word “freely” can mean “without charge” or, in a more abstract sense, “without restraint or hesitation.” In a manner of speaking, God has “held nothing back” in showering us with daily blessings, especially in His extending salvation in Christ and the continual cleansing of our sins (1 John 1:7, 9). John agrees in John 1:16, “For from His fullness we have all received, grace upon grace.” (ESV) Therefore, we are to give to others just as freely as Christ Himself has given to us. We are to “hold nothing back” in using these blessings to serve people and glorify Him.

My entire experience seemed a real-life illustration of this truth—together with physical and spiritual blessings, the Lord was truly gracious to us in our travel, health, accommodations, meals (the food was delicious), and in bringing to us such friendly and generous people who made our journey that much more enjoyable. Because of this, I felt not only obliged but also eagerly motivated to return to Him my time and energy for the growth of His kingdom.

“For the love of Christ compels us, because we judge thus: that if One died for all, then all died; and He died for all, that those who live should live no longer for themselves, but for Him who died for them and rose again.” (2 Corinthians 5:14-15)

The Campaign

World English Institute, a nonprofit organization, is able to meet two needs: knowledge of the English language and knowledge of God’s Word. The lessons are very well laid out, easy to understand, and user-friendly; the Bible teaching is sound and the English lessons are detailed and accurate. The WEI courses are also designed to help students prepare for the TOEFL examination, “a standardized test to measure the English language ability of non-native speakers wishing to enroll in English-speaking universities” (Wikipedia). The English language is becoming increasingly prominent overseas, particularly in Europe, and more and more jobs in other countries require their employees to know at least the basics of English. So, when we come and offer English lessons free of charge, many people are eager to learn, especially from a native English speaker. Because the area of Arad is highly religious, the people are also very willing to discuss the Scriptures. WEI meets both interests and desires.

The Studies

This serving experience allowed me to both build upon my knowledge and experience in teaching and also learn how to be a better communicator. Because my main teaching experience has been with children, that especially assisted me in studying with my youngest student, who was 13 years old (and one of the sweetest teenagers I’ve ever met). I was blessed to have been brought up in the Word, so this also helped me greatly in leading the Bible studies, which was the primary focus of our campaign.  I thoroughly enjoyed the teaching aspect of the campaign and leading others in their study of the Bible; it was truly one of the most rewarding things I’ve ever done. Our team leader, Mr. Little, gave me a high compliment when he observed my interaction with a student and told me afterward, “You’re a natural.” This encouraged me so much, for I truly did my very best to connect with and show Christ’s love to these people whom God sent to us in His providence.

Before this past summer, I had not studied any foreign languages, (other than the American Sign Language class I took in high school), so I did not fully understand the complexities and challenges involved in learning a language other than my own. Though part of our purpose was to teach English, I was able to concurrently learn bits and pieces of Romanian, partly from the students themselves, which was so fun and a great way to build our friendship. This in itself helped me see the situation from their perspective, because, as we would talk, they often acknowledged the difficulty of “translating” the Romanian words in their head to the English words to say, even when they are able to read English well. It is one thing to read a foreign language and quite another to speak it in a conversation! However, though it was sometimes challenging to communicate our thoughts, the challenge became easier over time and even enjoyable. We would laugh together about mispronunciations (mostly mine) and my attempts at the accent. I have come away with a new awareness and appreciation for language and its diversity, as well as the reminder that regardless of where we are from, there is no communication barrier in kindness. We all smile in the same language.

The Community

Besides the relatively busy traffic on our street and our apartment above the church building sitting only a couple of blocks from the main Boulevard, it was still one of the most peaceful and secure places I’ve visited–a couple of our team members even observed how they felt more at ease there than they do at home. The people of Arad were a joy to meet, and even strangers were friendly–two nice natives showed compassion on us as we shopped in the grocery store and kindly showed us how things worked. Our students were the epitome of hospitality and graciousness, and I was both inspired and impressed with their willingness to discuss spiritual matters.

The Growth

It is the paradox of missions: you go to impact others with the gospel and you end up impacted yourself–much more than you ever thought possible. It has been said that travel is the most intense mode of learning–but for two weeks in July, we did not simply travel; we traveled with a spiritual purpose. And because of that, I didn’t simply experience an intense mode of learning; I experienced an extraordinary journey of personal and spiritual growth.

I was able to see that whether for good or bad, I do have an influence on others. I must always be aware of how I conduct myself, because, as a Christian, I am never invisible to the world. In experiencing a different culture, I am able to appreciate my own to a greater extent and be inspired to connect with those close to me at home. In having daily interaction with new people and experience in leading a study, I am now more confident in myself and my ability to relate with others. I saw how, in teaching, it is better to show people where to look rather than to tell them what to see. The person must discover the information and truth for his or herself; the teacher is there to simply guide them in the right direction. I have learned to be bolder in my conversations about the Lord and to hold nothing back when it comes to sharing the Good News with those around me.

I believe that the most challenging aspect of this trip was stepping out of my comfort zone, in both the extensive travel and unique interaction with people from a different country. It is easy for me to retreat into my own space of familiarity, but this journey compelled me to step up and give my time to others. The funny thing about comfort zones is that, in stepping out of them, one finds a new level of comfort, a new satisfaction in embarking upon the unknown and discovering the strength found in trusting in the Lord. Although this was like nothing I had ever done before, I think that the very thing that made this experience challenging is what made it most meaningful–I left what was familiar, but I was able to get to know amazing people on a personal basis and learn about them, their culture, their beliefs, and their perspective on life. Though it may have seemed intimidating at first to spend an hour each day one-on-one with someone of a completely different background, this time became so precious to me and to the students, an hour that seemed like a minute because we talked about God’s Word, learned more about the English language, and had loads of fun doing it. In putting myself out there, I was able to fulfill the Lord’s command put others’ needs and interests before my own, to truly listen, and to build encouraging relationships.

Freely give…

I have a wonderful family who raised me to know the Lord. I am saved by Christ’s redeeming blood (Romans 6:3-4). I have good health. I am able to earn my degree online, I have friends who encourage me, and I was able to make this journey to Romania by God’s grace. He has provided me with these things, but Jesus said that “it is more blessed to give than to receive.” (Acts 20:35) Rather than taking these blessings for granted, or selfishly holding them to myself, I must use them in order to bless others. Freely I have received, freely I must give.

I am reminded of Mordecai’s admonition to Esther, “Yet who knows whether you have come to the kingdom for such a time as this?” In God’s providence, Esther was given a status of royalty, not to be used for her own desires or purposes, but to help preserve the Jewish nation—ultimately so that Jesus could come into the world in the fullness of time (Galatians 4:4). Esther was blessed in order to be a blessing, and so am I. In Luke 12:48, Jesus says, “For everyone to whom much is given, much will be required.” With grace comes responsibility; God has provided for me so that I may point people to Him.

“But by the grace of God I am what I am, and His grace toward me was not in vain; but I labored more abundantly than they all, yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me.” (1 Corinthians 15:10)

By giving freely to me, the Lord teaches me to freely give to others. He promises in Luke 6:38, “Give, and it will be given to you; good measure, pressed down, shaken together, and running over will be put into your bosom. For with the same measure that you use, it will be measured back to you.” Giving is a never-ending process; when I receive God’s blessings and extend those blessings to others, He promises to freely give again. The key to true giving is to give as freely as Christ has given to me.

Leave a comment